Nine forms of the Goddess - During Navratri

Nine forms of the Goddess - During Navratri

During the Navratri days, the 9 auspicious nights of worshipping the female cosmic power-- is celebrated, sung, and invoked in its nine forms. The various forms signify power, strength, bravery, knowledge, beauty, grace, and auspiciousness.
The following nine avatars of the Goddess are observed over Navratri. 
Day 1 - Shailaputri

The first day is the day of Devi Shailaputri. The literal meaning of Shailputri means the daughter (putri) of the mountain/peak (Shaila). She is depicted as riding a bull which is also a symbol for steadiness. She brings steadiness and solidity into our life.
Colour to wear: Orange is devoted to the day of Shailaputri. It represents enthusiasm, success, and happiness.
Day 2 - Brahmacharini
The second day is of the deity Brahmacharini. She represents the female who practices Brahmacharya (renunciation from worldly pleasures). Brahmacharini is represented as a young, single woman signifying the aspect of energy that is independent and ever new.
She provides grace, blissfulness, peace, and prosperity.

Colour to wear: White is the color of Brahmacharini synonymous with purity, inner peace, and sacredness.
Day 3 - Chandraghanta
The third day is of Goddess Chandraghanta. Chandra means moon and ghanta is a bell. She represents a mind that is as cool as the moon and in the present (like the effect of hearing the sound of a bell). She is revered on the third day for tranquillity and prosperity in life.

Colour to wear: Red color is worn for passion, fearlessness, and sexuality.

Day 4 - Kushmanda
The fourth day is of Deity Kushmanda. ‘Ku’ means little, ‘sh’ is energy and ‘anda’ is the cosmic sphere or also referred to as an egg. This avatar is also referred to as the “smiling goddess” and credited with creating the world as a small cosmic egg. She teaches us to feel abundance in life and to see every particle in creation as awakened energy/prana.

Colour to wear: Royal blue is the colour of this day stating elegance and richness.
Day 5 - Skandamata
The fifth day of Navratri is for Skandamata. She rides ferocious lion and carries child Skanda in her lap. She brings practical wisdom and action together. She embodies skill with innocence and courage with compassion.
She is also recognized as “Goddess of Fire.”

Colour to wear: Yellow colour as it will keep you cheerful and energized.

Day 6 - Katyayani
The sixth form of the Goddess is Katyayani. She rules the invisible and un-manifest world. She represents everything that cannot be seen or understood. She is the force behind the deepest and most intricate secrets of divinity. Seeing beyond the senses and knowing beyond logic - this energy is Devi Katyayani.

Colour to wear: Green colour is associated with new beginnings. It is worn to evoke a sense of fertility and growth.

Day 7 - Kalaratri
The seventh day is for the Goddess Kaalaratri. Kaala means ‘time’ as well as ‘black’, and ratri means ‘night’. The Devi is worshipped as the destroyer of ignorance or darkness and remover of sorrow.

Colour to wear: Grey colour is worn to balance the energy and keeps you grounded.

Day 8 - Mahagauri
Mahagauri is the eighth form of Goddess Durga and regarded as the most graceful form among the nine forms. She represents higher knowledge and liberation and brings purity, calmness, wisdom and austerity.

Colour to wear: Purple colour which epitomizes opulence, nobility, and power.
Day 9 Siddhidharti
Ninth day celebrates Devi Siddhidharti. She possesses supernatural healing powers. She sits in a blissfully happy and enchanting pose. Siddhi means ‘fulfillment’ or ‘perfection’ and datri means ‘giver’ or ‘awarder’. This Goddess bestows abilities that help achieve success.

Colour to wear: Peacock green colour signifying grace, integrity, and watchfulness.